Caffeine is the fix.

Life has moved so fast for me this winter, it’s hard to believe it is the 2nd anniversary of my blog! I’m so happy with life these days and looking back at all my experiences that I’ve gone through in the culinary world, I am appreciative of these past few years.

To give you a rapid update I went from Arete pop-up restaurant, to Napa, then private cooking, to learning the art of lattes. In one fell swoop, all those things happened.

Fast forward to these past few months, I have been helping open a new cafe in Connecticut as the Manager & Event Coordinator. I have been reeling on the positive energy of the last six months that I got a little too caught up in real life! Though I still cook for personal reasons and I still privately cook from time to time, I have put all of my energy into this new progressive project.

ImageIf you know me, you know how passionate I have been about coffee ever since I went to cuppings at Counter Culture in the District (WDC). I loved getting to know the wonderful guys there and learning about the chemical complexities of coffee. At the restaurant I helped open in the District, we used siphons and amazing single-origin coffees that Counter Culture roasted in small batches every week. Soon, coffee crawls became a daily excuse for me to get out and about. I started spending more time in the local coffee houses, then anywhere else. I became so enamored with how interesting the business was and started to research more.

ImageAfter my time there, I traveled back north to get my BA at the Culinary Institute of America. In that year and a half, I took any and every opportunity to read & write about coffee; it became my new favourite passion. The history behind it, how it brought people together, and the way it enlightened the masses. There are so many factors to it that I knew nothing about as a child. In my mind it was only something that smelled amazing when you pressed the brew button on the coffee pot. As a teen, it was what got me awake at 5:30 every morning. It wasn’t until I was 19 that I truly realized how complex it was. Now, I live for it. Even as I write, I am drinking our Ashlawn Nicaraguan Dark Roast (currently my favourite coffee that we offer).

Image

As the summer and fall came, I was given the amazing opportunity to learn coffee from a success in the industry, Carol Adams Dahlke. She is a powerful force in the world of coffee. Her small roastery in Lyme produces coffee for more then 45 accounts, including the shop that she appointed me the Manager of this November. As I have been working under her, I have learned an abundance of what goes behind every bag and cup of coffee and it all is absolutely amazing. The amount of detail that goes behind creating the perfect latte and proper roast is incredible and I am still learning more and more everyday.

ImageI can honestly say that I have never been more excited or engaged in any line of work of mine. I hope that my contributions to this project make it a success; that is my priority & goal of 2014. Stay tuned for more updates! I will be posting more about coffee & food. Especially about marrying the two. I will also be progressing my wordpress forward as the year goes on to a different reflection of my life. I hope you all have a wonderful beginning to the year & live bright.

With love & fire,

                   Jocelynn Neri

Image

*Final photo by Jules Lesinski Photography 2013.

Leave a Reply

