Gluten and Dairy Free Outrageous Brownies

Image

I love baking for my friends. As a teenager, I always brought a little sweet treat along with me wherever I was invited and it was always welcomed. In college, I found myself to be a prodigy housewife of sorts; always baking for my next door neighbors. The look of surprise and delight is enough for me to enjoy doing so. Anyhow, one thing that I made quite often in my younger years was Ina Garten’s Outrageous Brownies. They were always a crowd pleaser at all the dinners and sleepovers in my youth, as well a personal favourite. Since giving up gluten, I had yet to make the decadent dessert so I decided to dust off the recipe and give it a new twist. I made the recipe without gluten and dairy, which I found was much easier then I had anticipated. I also used only cocoa powder in the mix and semi-sweet chocolate chunks for the chips.

Image

Jocelynn’s Outrageous Brownies: Makes 12 brownies

11 oz cocoa powder

3 oz Semi-Sweet Chocolate

16 oz vegan butter (earth balance)

2 T instant coffee

1 c + 6 T sugar (separated)

2 eggs

3 t vanilla

2/3 c flour (Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free AP)

1/2 T Baking powder

1/2 t Salt

Preheat the oven to 350℉. Melt the butter, 6 tablespoons of sugar, and cocoa powder together in a double boiler. In a bowl, mix together eggs, remaining sugar, instant coffee, and vanilla. Allow the butter mixture to cool to body temperature, then add it to the egg mixture in stages, to prevent the eggs from cooking. Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt on top of the chocolate mix, then fold it into the batter. Chop the semi-sweet chocolate into chunks, then coat them in a tablespoon of flour. Fold them into the mix. Pour into a half-size baking pan (a square cake pan) and bake for 15-20 minutes. Check with a cake tester for doneness.

Note: Allow the brownies too cool considerably before enjoying, or they will crumble! I have found this issue to be the same in Ina Garten’s recipe. Enjoy with a tall glass of cold almond milk.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

One thought on “Gluten and Dairy Free Outrageous Brownies

Leave a Reply

