Seattle Coffee: Best & Worst

Image

If you know me, you know I have an intense interest in coffee. Always researching, reading, learning and exploring the world of coffee.

I am presently on a school Food, Wine, and Agriculture trip. We spent some time with roasters and sellers, but there were many places outside of the itinerary that I had vested interest in; and I was not about to let the opportunity of being in seattle for a week pass me by. I was determined to make sure I got the most of it so here is the best, bad and ugly of my coffee tour!

Above is an espresso from Roy Street Coffee & Tea. It is a well kept secret of Seattle. It is lemony, sweet and mine came with a complimentary biscotti. Worth dropping in.

Note: you can use Starbuck’s Gold cards here.

Image

Image

Victrola: Coffee Roasters on Pike

The baristas are relaxed and know their craft. A fun atmosphere, the cafe is light and open. You can peer in the back at the roaster; where they make those beans liquid magic. Ask for a tour! I was short on time, but they might offer them during production.

The Streamline espresso blend is as harmonious as their name.

ImageImage

Caffé Vita: Coffee Roaster on Pike

I had a lot of fun at Caffé Vita with the buyer, Daniel Shewmaker and their roaster, Wade, showing me around. They are both extremely knowledgeable in their craft. The compaines coffee is in so many local shops, including the ports nearby. I had at least one cup of their coffee everyday when I was in Washington state.

The espresso has serious appeal to; came highly recommended by Daniel.

Note: They also sell really tasty gluten free treats which is always a plus.

WORST!

The original Starbucks. Yes, I was shocked too. I like Starbis! It’s good for a quick pick me up on the go, sometimes it can’t be all about quality, you know?

I was particuraly shocked at how terrible the espresso shot was that I had. Very watered down, no crema. I was told by the lady upfront that this is the only Starbucks that hand pulls all their espresso. They have a beautiful La Marzocco machine too, but did not use it wisley.

Not worth the wait, no matter how particularly Seattle it is.

A few other places that I hear are really wonderful, but didnt get the chance to pop in:

http://www.espressovivace.com/

http://lighthouseroasters.com/

http://b-oespresso.com/

I’ll be writing more food/coffee/cocktail reviews so be on the lookout!

Image

Leave a Reply

