Quick & Healthy Cookies

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You may have noticed that I haven’t been posting many recipes as of late; I have been experimenting with a diet. Wow, that sounds lame. I always eat very healthy, but now and again life calls for cutbacks. No cookies, no treats, no heavy meals. Swimsuit season is right around the corner so now it is cuts season.

With that in mind I have been eliminating refined carbohydrates, the stuff that slips through the cracks and finds its way to your waist. As well, a lot of fat meaning peanut butter, oil, etc. etc. I know being healthy and cutting back isn’t glamorous, but it is effective! So far I do feel healthier with less fat and simple carbs. I do feel more energetic with the elimination of refined sugar, though I do crave it!

With cutbacks in mind and cravings in tow, I made peanut butter & jelly oatmeal cookies. I decided if I were to give in to one of my cravings it would be peanut butter. I use Natural which eliminates any extra oil. They are gluten free, dairy free, & low sugar. If you use egg replacer, easily vegan also!

These cookies are also full of fiber, protein, vitamins A & E, and Omegas (from the egg). So while they seem to be lackluster in all those un-healthy fats, simple carbs & sugars, they are full of nutrition and taste amazing. Its a win-win-win…with a bit of slam-dunk if I do say so myself.

Peanut Butter & Jelly Oatmeal Cookies:

1 C Peanut Butter, Natural

2/3 C Whole, Gluten free Oats

1/3 C Gluten Free Granola

2 T Sugar

1 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Kosher Salt

1 Egg

Low-Sugar Raspberry Jelly

Method-

Set oven to 325℉. Combine all ingredients except jelly. Use two spoons and ‘drop’ rounds onto a ungreased baking sheet. Use the bottom of a rounded teaspoon to make little imprints in the cookies. Put a small amount of jelly, about 1/2 a teaspoon, into each cookie and bake for 10-12 minutes or until they are golden brown. Cool and enjoy with a cup of coffee or almond milk!

 

Leave a Reply

